Klopp Named 2020 LMA Manager of the Year

Jurgen Klopp has won the League Managers Association’s (LMA’s) Manager of the Year award, after ending Liverpool’s 30-year English Premier League (EPL) trophy drought.

The German led Liverpool to lift the UEFA Champions League trophy last year, followed by the 2019/20 EPL title, in the same season they also won the FIFA Club World championship.

Klopp was announced as the 2019-20 recipient of the accolade on Monday, 27 July, by former Manchester United boss, Sir Alex Ferguson, after whom the trophy is named.

Sir Ferguson said: “You thoroughly deserved it. The performance level of your team was outstanding. Your personality runs right throughout the whole club.”

He also jokingly revealed that Klopp disrupted his sleep to announce his triumph: “I’ll forgive you for waking me up at 3:30AM to tell me you have won the league! Well done.”

In response, Klopp said he was delighted to win the LMA award. He also reminisced about the first time he met Ferguson over breakfast, saying the moment felt like meeting the pope.

He added: “I have to say thank you to a lot of people. I am here on behalf of my coaches. Another award for this incredible team.”

Image Credit: Source